IMG_1406IMG_1408

Zoodles! 

Tis the season for zucchini, and many times we end up with more than we can handle.  I just love zucchini noodles or ‘zoodles’ as I like to call them.  I was inspired to make a dish similar to a Veggie Bolognese dish that I get at the Amazing Cafe in the South Side.  I used veggies and ingredients that I had on hand to make a hearty sauce, so feel free to sub out some of the veggies and try your own version with what you have at your house!

Ingredients*:

3 zucchini (medium to large size)

I used a spiralizer to noodle-ize my zucchini.  This gadget is well worth the modest price, and it helps to break up some of the perceived monotony and apprehension around eating vegetables.

This is one of my favorite ways to eat zucchini.  The zucchini does not need to be cooked or peeled, so you get all of the benefits of eating raw too.  For this dish, I lightly salted the zucchini after spiralizing then let it sit for about an hour to remove some of the moisture.  This is not a necessity if you are watching your salt intake.  I used three medium zucchini for this dish, and I had enough for two dinners and two lunches.

For the sauce, I combined:

1.5 cups of red sauce (your choice – I used what I had in the fridge.)

1 package of white button mushrooms sliced

1 bulb of fennel sliced

1 onion sliced

1 fresh tomato sliced

1-4 cloves of  fresh garlic – depending on what you fancy

1 TBSP veggie stock concentrate (I use organic Better than Bouillon)

1 TBSP EVOO
1.5 cups of water
1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp italian seasoning
1/2 tsp fennel seed

1 can of white cannellini beans (cleaned and rinsed)

Salt & pepper to taste

I threw all of the sauce ingredients in the slow cooker, and cooked it for 1.5 hours on high.  Once the fennel and veggies were tender, I let the sauce cool.  I put the washed cannellini beans on top of the zucchini, and the sauce on top of that.

I served this whole dish room temperature on the patio on a warm summer evening.  You could also just serve your zoodles with a jarred sauce of your choice and add some fresh basil if you are pinched for time.  Whatever works for you!

Let me know how your zoodling goes….

*I used all organic ingredients and recommend the same for you.

