photo

One of my favorite people in the world, Sara, makes a wonderful Indian pastry called a Shangarah.  I met Sara in college, and her family is from Bangladesh.  They serve up some of the most delicious food that I’ve ever tasted, and I had a hankering for it last week.

Shangarahas are sort of like dumplings in a way – delicious pastry pockets stuffed with potatoes, cauliflower, peas, onion, and tons of wonderful spices.  I had a hard time finding a pastry that did not contain eggs and decided to try a version of Sara’s Shangarahs in the slow cooker instead.  This also helped slow down my busy week.

This dish turned out wonderfully after I consulted with her on the spices.  We had it for dinner and then also had enough for two lunches.  I served it over brown basmati rice with some sweet & spicy chili sauce on the side.  Oh, and fresh lemon is excellent squeezed on this as well.  Thanks, Sara!

Ingredients*

3 cups of water

1 head of cauliflower (I kept stems & leaves in this dish)

4 large potatoes (I used a mix of about 8 small blue & russets leftover from my CSA)

2 onions

1/2 bag of frozen peas (8 oz)

4 garlic cloves

1 TBSP EVOO

2 tsp Onion Powder

2 tsp Garlic Powder

2 tsp Cumin

2 tsp Coriander

2 tsp Turmeric

2 tsp Himalayan Pink Salt

3 cups of organic brown basmati rice in the rice cooker

*I use all organic ingredients whenever possible.

Instruction

Thoroughly clean all veggies.

Tear or cut cauliflower into bite sized pieces.  I also kept much of the stem & leaves in the dish.

Cut potatoes into bite sized pieces.

Chop onion and garlic.

Add the liquid (water and oil) first with the spices can help to evenly distribute the spices into the slow cooker.

Then add the potatoes first, then garlic, onion, cauliflower, and peas.

Cook on high for 3 1/2 hours stirring occasionally if you are home.  Stir and serve this dish hot over brown basmati rice.

Mmm…

 

 

 

 

