Image

I made this dish for both of my non-veg parents recently, and they ate it up!  It’s creamy and simple…the taste is truly rich without any dairy.  It has such a decadent and almost chocolatey velvet feel.  Mmmmm…This dish is definitely going into my favorite recipes.

Balsamic Cream Pasta

1 box of pasta (your choice of pasta – I recommend a whole grain, organic pasta.  I used a whole wheat spaghetti this time).

1.5 cups cashew milk (recipe below)

2 TBSP Balsamic Vinegar

2 3/4 TBSP Bragg’s Aminos

Sea Salt & Fresh Ground Pepper to taste

 

Cashew Milk

1 1/2 cups of water

1/2 cup of raw cashews

1 date (pitted)

1 pinch of himalayan pink salt (sea salt will work also)

Starting to slowly increase speed, blend in a high speed blender on highest setting for 3 minutes.

Instructions

Add cashew milk, balsamic vinegar, and Bragg’s Aminos to a small saucepan.  Simmer on low to warm the sauce.  You will notice that the sauce will start to thicken with heat.  Stir occasionally.

Cook pasta according to package instructions and your taste.

I topped my pasta with balsamic marinated sautéed Shitake mushrooms and served with a side of garlicky broccolini.  Mushrooms go very well with this sauce.

 

 

