IMG_9195

Veggiedub and I were making waffles this weekend, and I had a craving for whipped cream and strawberries on my waffle.  That’s tempeh bacon in the picture, too.  It’s most delicious!

I looked up a few whipped cream recipes for inspiration; then I improvised my own.  I wanted to share as it was such at decadent treat.  It’s thicker than whipped cream and the base is cashews.  You can cut this recipe back (in half) if you desire as this makes a decent quantity.  I will freeze and/or repurpose the rest of mine.

1 1/4 cup raw cashews

2 cups water

2 TBSP coconut palm sugar

3/4 tsp vanilla extract

1 pinch of himalayan pink salt

Place all ingredients into a powerful, high speed blender on low for about 45 seconds and gradually turn the speed up to high.  Flip to turbo and run for 2-3 minutes.  Taste. If the mixture is too thin, add a few more cashews.  You can play with ingredients to suit your taste, but I found this recipe to be just about perfection and not too sweet.

Enjoy your decadent Whipped Deliciousness on waffles, as a fruit dip, in oatmeal, in coffee or tea…the possibilities are endless.  Let me know how you take yours.

