IMG_0906 IMG_0907

I recently had the pleasure of receiving Savoy Cabbage from my local CSA, Clarion River Organics.  I was delighted by this as my friend, Sara, had been raving about it since last winter.  Savoy is the most tender and sweet of all cabbages, but it does not have the quality to last quite as long in your refrigerator.  Savoy Cabbage is very low in calories and high in folic acid, magnesium, potassium, calcium, copper, Vitamin K, and Vitamin C.

I took Sara’s advice on the proper way to cook this guy and tore the leaves into ‘chip’ size pieces.  I then placed the torn leaves into a large mixing bowl and added a touch of olive oil, himalayan pink salt & freshly ground black pepper.  I roasted at 425 degrees for 5-10 minutes until a few of the leaves started to brown.  Be sure to watch this as it cooks quickly.  This will make a lovely side dish.

Let me tell you, this cruciferous cabbage is delicious.  It tastes like a mixture of broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots.  If you have ever had Broccoli Romanesco – I believe it’s very similar in taste.

If you see some of this curly cabbage in the store, I recommend picking some up and roasting it.

Yum!

