photo-1

One of my favorite dishes at asian restaurants is the cold peanut noodles.  I wanted to make a healthier version of this dish since it’s likely loaded with MSG and other chemicals, and I simply prefer home cooking because I know exactly what I’m putting into my food.  My version of Cold Peanut Noodles is spicy, savory, and oh so satisfying.

I had some leftover 8 grain & flax seed pasta this week as I typically cook a pasta dish on Sunday nights and end up with a bunch of extra noodles to play with during the week that I don’t necessarily want Italian style.  I found a simple cold peanut noodle recipe online, and I’ve tweaked it for veggiejane.  It’s an interesting way to repurpose  leftover noodles, and I imagine it would also be delightful with rice.

Ingredients

1/2 cup smooth organic nut butter of your choice (peanut, soy, almond, cashew)

1/4 cup Bragg’s Aminos (can use soy sauce if you don’t have aminos)

1/3 cup warm filtered water

1 tablespoon organic chopped peeled fresh ginger

1 medium organic garlic clove, chopped

2 tablespoons organic rice vinegar (ACV should work here too)

1 1/2 tablespoons of organic olive oil

1 teaspoon dried hot red pepper flakes or a splash of the hot /chili sauce of your choice.

Leftover cold pasta or cook half a box, and let it cool.  Whole wheat, organic pasta works.

Directions

Chop the garlic and ginger together in a food processor.

Place all ingredients in a small mixing bowl and blend with an immersion blender until smooth (use a regular blender if you don’t have immersion).  Note there’s a chance you may need to heat this mixture in the microwave for 20-30 seconds depending on how solid the nut butter is.

Add the cold pasta to a larger mixing bowl and pour the peanut sauce on top.

Place some carrots and/or bell peppers peppers in the food processor and roughly chop or julienne by hand.  Any fresh veggie would do well in this dish including broccoli, cucumbers, or cabbage.

Add the chopped veggies to the pasta & sauce.  Then  mix around until the noodles are well coated with the peanut sauce.

Top with chopped green onion and some Sriracha sauce (my sauce of choice for most everything).  Serve cold or at room temperature.

Enjoy!

