I am finally giving up on some of my green patio tomatoes ever turning red; tis the season!  I decided to make a green tomato sauce and found a recipe that I could tweak to suit the ingredients that I all ready had stocked at home including some of my fresh patio basil that has also seen better days. This sauce turned out tangy & hearty.

Ingredients

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

8-10 medium green tomatoes, cut into 1/4 slices

6 garlic cloves, minced

24 fresh basil leaves

1 lb linguine or your noodle of choice (I used organic whole wheat gobetti noodles)

1/2 cup parmesan cheese, freshly grated (I used 1/4 cup organic raw cashews)

1/2 cup veggie stock (I use organic Better than Bouillon veg stock)

1/2 cup pasta water (Once pasta is cooked remove 1/2 cup with a measuring cup & add to sauce)

Himalayan Pink Salt

Ground Black Pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 300°F.

Place sliced tomatoes on a sheet pan and season with salt & pepper.  If needed, oil the pan first with olive oil.  (I use USA Pans and don’t need to use oil).

Bake the  uncovered tomatoes until they soften, about 25 minutes.

In a mini food processor, chop the garlic, basil, cashews, and oil together.

After 25 minutes, sprinkle the garlic/basil/cashew/oil mixture on top of the tomatoes.

Bake again until soft and lightly carmelized, 20 minutes or so.

Remove from oven and place the ingredients in a small stainless sauce pot along with the veggie stock.  Use a hand blender tool to blend directly in the pot.  If your pot is not stainless, put them into a food processor.  Pulse a few times, but let the sauce be chunky.

Put the mixture into a sauce pan to cook on low.  Add pasta water once the pasta is cooked and continue to simmer the sauce until you serve.

Salt & pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

Image

