One of my dearest & oldest friends, Reenie, recently had a lovely little baby girl named Chloé.  Reenie loves these ginger snaps, so I made a batch for her.  You must love ginger & spice to hit it off with these cookies; they get their heat from the ginger & clove.  I could affectionately call these little guys Ginger Spanks…you’ll find out why later in the post. They’re also a highly temperamental cookie; no one batch is ever the same.  Another good friend of mine, Lisa, actually introduced me to this recipe on food.com a few years back over the holidays, and I have played with it since.  My edits are included below.  Have fun with these fiesty cookies!

Vegan Ginger Snaps for Chloé

Ingredients

2 cups flour (I use King Arthur organic unbleached all purpose flour)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt (I use himalayan pink or sea salt)

2 1/2 tablespoons ground ginger (I use Simply Organic brand ginger)

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I use Simply Organic brand cinnamon)

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves (I use Simply Organic brand clove)

1/2 cup canola oil 1/2 cup of organic sesame or sunflower oil (both are good for high heat temps)

1/4 cup molasses (Wholesome Sweetener Organic Molasses)

1/4 cup soymilk (I have used both organic unsweetened vanilla soy or almond here – either works)

1 cup sugar (I use organic Coconut Palm Sugar, which is similar to brown sugar and has a lower glycemic load plus nutrients)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions
Sift dry ingredient (except sugar) into a bowl and set aside.  (I simply mix them together well with a fork.)

In a large bowl combine wet ingredients, including sugar and whisk or beat on medium until blended. (No need to mix, just stir by hand).

Stir in the pre-sifted dry ingredients and mix until well combined.  (I typically stir by hand but have also used a mixer; either will work).

The dough will be quite sticky and you may need to dampen your hands to work with it. Roll the dough into little balls (about 1 Tablespoon) and flatten out to your liking. (Note: I also sometimes put a little oil on my hands to help with the rolling as the dough is not very easy to work with).

After I place the rolled dough balls on the cookie sheet, I spank them with a flat wooden spoon as shown in the pic; hence the nickname, Ginger Spanks!

Press the coarse sugar (Turbinado) onto the tops of the cookies. (I skip this step all together, no need for the extra sugar).

Bake about 10 minutes at 350 degrees on a greased cookie sheet. (I use a USA Pan cookie sheet and don’t need to grease).

Allow cookies to cool (at least 30 minutes) before packaging.  Makes about 24 cookies.

These are too good not to share with a friend!  Enjoy!

Here’s the original recipe from food.com if you are interested!
Read more: <a href=”http://www.food.com/recipe/vegan-ginger-cookies-227114?oc=linkback”>http://www.food.com/recipe/vegan-ginger-cookies-227114?oc=linkback</a&gt;

Image

Image

Image

