I had a bunch of baby carrots and some leftover celery in my fridge that inspired my lentil soup last week.  I love lentil soup, and I play with some variations depending on what I have that’s fresh and needs to be eaten.  You can too – potatoes would be delicious and hearty to add.  Sweet potatoes even better.  Here’s what I did last week, which was most delicious!

Ingredients

Half a bag of baby carrots (organic & rinsed)

5 stalks of organic celery

2 onions

6-8 large leaves of kale (any kale will work, I used organic Lacinato from our patio garden)

1 cup of dried red or green lentils (you can do both if you have them – I used a combination of both)

1 cup of barley

1 large chunk of ginger (about a half inch & peeled)

3 cloves of garlic

1 quart of veggie stock (I use water + Organic Veg Better than Bouillon)

1 TBSP of coconut oil (you can use olive or any plant based oil that you have)

1 TBSP of organic rice vinegar (you can use apple cider vinegar)

Instructions

Food process (chop setting) the onions, celery, carrots, ginger, and garlic.

Rinse the lentils and barley.

Add the oil, broth, vinegar, lentils and barley to the slow cooker.

Wash & tear up the kale and add to the slow cooker.

Cook for 4.5 hours on low.

Go to work & come home to a delicious hot meal.

Stir & taste the warm soup when you get home.  Add water if more broth is needed.

Season w/ salt & fresh ground pepper as needed. I also like to use Bragg’s Aminos as a savory seasoning.

See?  I told you it was lazy.

Image

