Image

Image

This recipe amazed me.  The fact that you could add a bunch of fresh ingredients and pasta into ONE pot and cook it in 10 minutes?  It’s simple, and it really works.  I found the recipe on Pinterest, which led me to a blog that credited Apron Strings for the recipe, so I figured that I should credit them also; however, I have seen this recipe in lots of different places.  Anyway, here’s the recipe with my tweaks.  Feel free to add more julienne veggies like mushrooms, zucchini, eggplant, etc.  I can’t think of anything that wouldn’t work here.  These pictures are my own, and apologies for the slight blur.  I plan on playing with this idea a bunch in the future.  Stay tuned!

Ingredients:
12 ounces linguine pasta  Just use a box of pasta, it’s easier.  I used organic Whole Wheat Spaghetti…even better.
1 can (15 ounces) diced tomatoes with liquid I used two fresh organic Romas &  ten fresh organic cherry tomatoes with about a cup of organic sauce (365 marinara from Whole Foods) that I had open in the fridge instead.
1 large sweet onion, cut in julienne strips I used two onions because one is never enough.
4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
2 teaspoons dried oregano leaves I used organic Italian Seasoning instead PLUS a teaspoon of fennel seed.
2 large sprigs fresh basil, chopped
4 1/2 cups vegetable broth (regular broth, not low sodium) I used five cups on account that I used the whole box of pasta, and it worked just fine.
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Parmesan cheese for garnish I didn’t use any cheese, and it was still delicious.

Method:
1. Place pasta, tomatoes, onion, any extra veggies, garlic, and basil in a large stock pot. Pour in vegetable broth. Sprinkle on top the pepper flakes and oregano. Drizzle top with olive oil.

2. Cover pot and bring to a boil. Reduce to a low simmer and keep covered and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring every 2 minutes or so. Cook until almost all liquid has evaporated – leave about an inch of liquid in the bottom of the pot – but you can reduce as desired.

3. Season to taste with salt and pepper, stirring pasta several times to distribute the liquid in the bottom of the pot.

4.  Once pasta is desired consistency, remove from the hot pot to prevent over cooked pasta.

