One of the soups that I miss most in my life is a big bowl of French Onion Soup au gratin.  I used to get this at restaurants as a kid, and there was nothing better than having your spoon stuck in a bowl of gooey cheese, broth & onion.  It was heaven on earth.  Since French Onion Soup is typically contains beef-based broth, I rarely get a chance to enjoy it when dining out.  But here’s a recipe that satisfies the craving – pretty simple to make, really.

Ingredients:

4 medium organic onions (any onion will do – I typically use organic white or yellow onions)

1 qt. of organic veggie stock (you can use water + veggie bouillon base)

2 Tbsp of beer (dark beer is sweeter)

1 Tbsp of honey

1 Tbsp of dried organic chopped chives

2 tsp of organic garlic powder

Sea Salt & crushed black pepper

Organic mozzarella cheese

Half of an organic bagel or toast (Rye is pretty delightful here, and my favorite is Rudi’s Organic Jewish Light Rye)

Directions:

Cut onions in half.  Lay interiors of onion on cutting board and cut lengthwise.

Add onions to soup pot.

Sautee onions on low heat with canola oil and a pinch of salt until they are sweating.

Add water or veggie base on medium heat.

Add dash of beer.

Once the soup starts to simmer, place on low heat to serve.

Turn oven broiler on low.

Serve soup in oven-safe bowls.

Add toasted bread (I butter both sides & add garlic powder.  I use Earth Balance vegan organic butter).

Slice cheese and rest on bread.

Salt & pepper to taste.

Broil until cheese starts to bubble and brown.

Enjoy!

